N is for Nutella

If you know me well, you know that I have an affinity for Nutella, the hazelnut spread.  As such, it was only a matter of time before Nutella made its way into my baking in some form.  I decided to make a simple chocolate layer cake with whipped cream Nutella icing.  I have named it the Nutella Black and White Cake. 

The cake is a basic chocolate cake recipe consisting of eggs, brown sugar, butter, cocoa and flour and baked for about 35 minutes.  I whipped cream and folded in Nutella for the middle layer of icing.  The top layer is just plain real whipped cream. 

WIth 6 eggs, this is a very dense cake, but I reduced the amount of sugar called for in the recipe and this allowed the taste of cocoa to come through.  Paired against the hazelnut filling, there is no sweetness overload, it is just right.  A nice change from ordinary chocolate icing. The whipped cream on top adds some contrast and lightens up the cake. 

Oh Nutella, you never let me down!  =)

2 thoughts on “N is for Nutella

  1. Nazek says:

    This looks like heavenly nutella goodness! Great job with this and ur culinary pursuits…u inspire me to explore a new passion!

Leave a Reply

