Marilyn Monroe

This entry is inspired by Marilyn Monroe because I have been reading The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe by Randy Taraborrelli.  It is one of many biographies written about the iconic figure’s life.  She was glamorous yet troubled.  She worked hard for her successes.  But despite that, she maintained that she was a simple girl who only wanted to love and be loved back.  I can identify with that. 

So of course my mind then wandered to dessert and specifically, what dessert did Marilyn Monroe like to eat?  References are few and far between about this, but I was able to uncover that she had a thing for a treat called “Miss Milton’s Lovely Fudge Pie”.  This originates from an ice cream parlour called Serendipity 3 which is located in Manhattan and was a place Marilyn liked to frequent.

I began by sifting together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Using a double boiler, I melted chocolate and butter, stirring constantly.  The chocolate mixture was eventually added to eggs, sugar, vanilla and sour cream and mixed thoroughly.  Lastly I folded in the flour mixture until fully incorporated. The batter was then baked for 30-40 minutes. 

The recipe paired the cake with a raspberry coulis, but since I had strawberries on hand, I made a switcheroo.  I simply pureed some strawberries and added as a decoration on top.  This cake was moist in the middle.  It had the consistency of a chocolate lava cake, but not as runny.  It melted in my mouth.  Although not overly sweet, adding the tartness of the strawberry puree made a nice contrast. 

Marilyn Monroe had good taste in dessert and I can identify with that too!!  =)

One thought on “Marilyn Monroe

Leave a Reply

