Strawberry Cupcakes, sort of…

This entry is inspired by Oprah Winfrey.  Well, not really, I just happened across the recipe on her site because I had strawberries I wanted to use and googled strawberry recipes.  Also, I was feeling a bit lazy and this recipe was very straightforward.  So this recipe comes courtesy of Sprinkles Cupcakes which is a cupcake bakery based out of Los Angeles. 

First I pureed some strawberries and set them aside.  The dry ingredients – flour, baking powder and salt – were whisked together.  Then the wet ingredients – milk, vanilla and the strawberry puree were mixed together in a separate bowl. 

Using my trusty mixer, I creamed together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  I reduced the speed and then added one large egg and the egg whites of 2 large eggs.  Half of the flour mixture was added and once mixed in, the milk mixture was added, then the rest of the flour mixture.  I let the mixer run on a low-speed until everything was nicely blended together, remembering to scrape down the sides a few times. 

The batter was divided into 12 muffin tins lined with muffin cups and baked until the tops were dry to the touch.  About 20-25 minutes. 

I think the next time I attempt these cupcakes, I will add more strawberry puree to make a cupcake that is  moist.  I found the cupcake heavy and I prefer cupcakes with a lighter consistency.  As well, when I am not feeling as lazy, I will frost the cupcakes with a nice buttercream strawberry icing.  But these cupcakes smelled so yummy baking in my oven.  It was heavenly. 

I am certain, these turned out nothing like how the Sprinkles Cupcake lady makes them.  She clearly does not need to worry about me taking over her cupcake empire.  At least not for the time being…  =)

Leave a Reply

