Red Red Red

Lately I have been feeling feisty. I have been feeling defiant. Maybe a little agitated and frustrated. If I could use a colour to describe how I have been feeling, I would say I have been feeling Red.

Feeling red inspired this week’s baking adventure. What better than a Red Velvet Cake?

I began by mixing cake flour, cocoa and salt in a bowl. Using my mixer, I cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, then added the 2 eggs, one egg at a time until beaten into the butter and sugar. Some vanilla was added for flavour. The recipe generally calls for buttermilk which is thick and has a rich tangy buttery flavour. Instead I opted for soy milk as I had it on hand at the time. In a measuring cup, I mixed the soy milk with some red food colouring and set aside. With the mixer on low-speed, I mixed in the flour mixture and soy milk mixture, alternating a little bit of each until all was mixed in.

 

Red cake batter seconds before going into the oven.

After 25 minutes the cake layers were done.  I let them cool on a wire rack and then wrapped them and into the fridge they went for the night. 

With the cake layers cooled from being in the fridge, it made it easier to spread the icing.  I opted for a simple real whipped cream icing.  I piped the whipped cream in the middle and on top of the cake. 

The cake didn’t come out as bright a red as I had hoped, perhaps I needed more food colouring.  But I’m more impressed with my decorating skills than the cake itself.  =)

Leave a Reply

