Sunshine and Fruits

The weather this past week has been so lovely.  The sun finally decided to make an appearance and stay for a while.  When I think of sunshine, I think summer and summer makes me crave fresh fruits such as blueberries, strawberries and raspberries. 

I decided this day to try making some fruit muffins.  Specifically, whole wheat blueberry and raspberry muffins.  Wonderful for breakfast or as a healthy snack. 

The recipe called for all-purpose flour but I decided to use organic whole wheat flour instead.  In one bowl, I mixed the flour with baking powder, salt and some cinnamon.  Using the mixer, I made a slurry with melted butter and brown sugar.  To this I added some no fat sour cream, 1 egg, some soy milk and pure vanilla extract. 

The flour mixture was then gently folded into the liquid.  I then took a cup of raspberries and blueberries and they too were folded gently into the mix.  The goal was to make sure the berries were not crushed while being mixed.  Sadly, some raspberries did not make it whole, but that splash of colour was certainly nice to see against the dark of the blueberries. 

I divided the batter into a lined muffin tin and into the oven for about 25 minutes on 350.  As they baked to a golden hue, the smell of cinnamon wafted in the air.  I could not wait to taste them. 

The top was crispy but the inside was soft.  The brown sugar sweetness worked well with the tartness of the fruit.  They tasted so good!  Did I also mention how great they smelled?  =)

Leave a Reply

