Something Blue

I remember seeing a movie on tv a long time ago where the lead character was a chef and every dish she made took on the feelings she had as she created the dish. When people ate the food, they somehow felt what she was feeling too. It wasn’t a very good movie, but sitting here right now writing this post, I can somehow identify with the lead character. When I decide to make something, it is usually influenced by something I have seen or someone I know or something I am craving or how I’m feeling that day. 

This is my upside down blueberry cake fresh from the oven.

I guess I was feeling a little blue and obviously craving blueberries.  I liked this recipe because the cake was really light and fluffy.  I think the next time I make it, I will add some lemon zest to compliment the blueberries.  In making the cake, I had to coat the bottom of the cake pan with melted butter, brown sugar and a layer of blueberries.  I poured the cake batter, consisting of cake flour, baking powder, salt, butter, eggs, milk and vanilla into the pan and then sprinkled some more blueberries. 

 

The cake was baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.  Once taken out of the oven I allowed it to cool for about 10 minutes and then carefully inverted the pan and released the cake in all its blueberry goodness. 

 

 

 

 

As it baked, the sugar and butter melted together and the blueberries softened.  Once the cake was flipped and let to cool, a sweet and slightly crispy crust formed because of the sugar and butter.  As I said before the cake was light and fluffy with a hint of vanilla.  Definitely one of my favourites!!

Leave a Reply

