The Spritz Experiment

Spritz cookies are butter cookies made using a cookie press or piping bag. I first made these cookies in my bake class and found them really easy to make so I thought I would try again. This time however I used a different recipe. Once the cookie dough was mixed I filled the piping bag and proceeded try to form cookies. Didn’t turn out the way I had experienced before. I found it very difficult to push the dough through and form shapes. I decided to stop using the piping bag and use a cookie press instead. This is what I ended up with:

Something did not seem right. After looking up some YouTube videos related to cookie pressing I realized I was using the press incorrectly.

 

 

 

 

 

Spritz cookies take #2.

I went back to my original recipe taught to me in bake class and finally got the desired result I was looking for.  I used a piping bag with a star tip to form the Spritz cookies.  As an added touch, I added a dab of jam to some and dipped others in milk chocolate. 

Leave a Reply

