Bake Class Is Back : Pound It!

Well, what I really meant was Pound Cake! 

Yes, folks, Bake Class is back on.  I am enrolled in the Art of Cakes course.  Week 1 was all about Pound Cakes.  A lot of flour, eggs, butter, shortening, and various flavourings.  I opted to make one orange flavoured pound cake and one lemon flavoured pound cake.  The cakes were moist with crispy tops.  I was most impressed with the marbling effect on my orange flavoured pound cake.  I also learned a few tips and tricks from my new teacher.  Now I know why the tops of cake loaves look like they have been split down the middle.  Wanna know why?  Feel free to ask. 

 Fresh Out of the Oven

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sliced

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So happy to be back in those kitchens.  Stay tuned for next week… Carrot Cake!  =)

Leave a Reply

