What’s Up Doc?

Felt a bit out of sorts today.  As much as I enjoy my classess, it was a bit of a struggle to get up and go to this class.  I think my end product reflected it. 

Today we made carrot cake.  An interesting recipe.  Heavy on eggs and other wet ingredients and not so much flour, in the end we come out with a spongy and light cake. 

What’s a carrot cake without cream cheese icing?  In this class the cream cheese or quark was cut with whipped topping. Generally that’s not how I would have done it, I prefer to use butter instead for a richer icing but hey, different strokes for different folks. 

As a final touch we added some almonds and made little carrot accents out of marzipan which is a paste made with sugar and almond meal. 

The Result…

A light, moist cake teeming with carrots, raisins, cinnamon and rum flavours.  I think I would have rather had added nuts to the batter and not used the rum.  I enjoy carrot cake, but I’m not a huge fan of this particular recipe.  It was a good try though!  =)

 

Leave a Reply

