The Great Gingersnap Search

In the air:

Florence + The Machine – Shake it out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYQV5O79tro&feature=youtube_gdata_player

All it took was a simple snack received on a plane trip to set me off on a Gingersnap obsession like no other. I failed to pay attention to the brand handed out and have spent the last few months picking up endless packages of Gingersnap cookies looking for a good substitute. I’m still looking.

Generally when I decide to bake something, it is because I have a craving for it. Why it has taken me nearly 5 months to get down to baking Gingersnaps is beyond me. Let’s see if my search is over….

As many recipes do, it begins with butter and sugar being mixed until light and fluffy. And then an egg and molasses is added.

20111227-211715.jpg

In another bowl we have the dry ingredients – flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ground ginger and ground cloves – which is then added to the butter mixture. Once incorporated, the mixture goes into the fridge to chill and firm up.

20111227-212845.jpg

With the batter firmed up, it is shaped into balls and rolled in sugar. Using the bottom of a glass, the cookie balls are flattened and into the oven they go to bake for about 12 minutes.

20111227-221311.jpg

As the cookies bake, my place fills with the fragrant scent of warm spices. Out of the oven, the cookies have flattened out. But the question I have is if my search for the best Gingersnaps is over?!

20111227-222215.jpg

The cookies have a nice texture, crisp on the outside and slightly soft in the middle. As I take a bite I taste the sweetness from the sugar the cookies were rolled in at first and then the bite of ginger hits but it is not a sharp bite, more like a nibble. It is missing that perfect balance between sugar and spice. Not bad for a first try, but I think my search continues… =)

Leave a Reply

