Streusel and Betty – After the Slice

So finally sliced up my class experiments from the weekend.

Behold the apple brown betty:

20120212-211005.jpg

Very crumbly and super sweet. Would taste great warm and with a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream or creme anglaise. Apples were still crisp and a bit tart which was welcome against the super sweet graham crust. I think next time I’ll cut down on the sugar content.

20120212-211357.jpg

Now for the blueberry streusel:

20120212-211448.jpg
Wow, blueberries!!

20120212-211534.jpg

I liked the pastry dough crust. It gave the creation some structure. The blueberries could have been a bit sweeter. Fresh berries would work well in future.

I am undecided about which one I like best. They each have their downfalls and their merits. I can say however I know exactly how I would improve them next time and that’s probably most important to me. =)

Leave a Reply

