Noble Apples

In the air
Do It Now – Ingrid Michaelson

Lights – Ellie Goulding

Scored some apples from class so I thought I’d just look up some recipes involving apples. I came across a recipe for an Apple Streusel Cake. Seemed easy enough to make. Click the link to see a picture of what the cake should look like.

Apples!

20120212-220907.jpg
I have to say I love my peeler. It’s by OXO and is the sharpest, most precise peeler ever. Wow, I’m a nerd.

Then I made the cake batter. It came out more like dough. I’m pretty sure that it was not supposed to be that way. I ended up dumping the dough into a pie plate and smoothing it down.

20120212-221805.jpg

Sliced, unseasoned apples laid on top. I assumed the cake and topping carried the flavour.

20120212-221933.jpg

Then the topping – flour, butter, sugar, pecans. Perhaps I should have used the topping recipe from my class. Note to self for future.

20120212-222100.jpg

Into the oven and after 45 minutes we had:

20120212-222140.jpg

So, I’m sure you are thinking what I’m thinking – that does NOT look anything like the picture. Not really sure what happened there.

20120212-222343.jpg

20120212-222400.jpg

The dough did turn into cake. The apples could have used some cinnamon or sugar. The topping could use some more butter but the nuts were a nice touch. Not sure if I would ever make this recipe again but then again, I’m all about trying to improve on my previous experiments. How else does one learn right?
I made this for dad and he can be a bit critical with certain things I make. He never holds back. He seemed impressed with my attempt and ate it right away. He liked it! He liked it! =)

Leave a Reply

