Crinkles

Ahhh, feels good to be back to baking. I’m over my bout with the flu and feeling like new. Thought I’d make some cookies today. I decided to make some Crinkle cookies, so called for their cracked powdered sugar appearance.

It begins by melting butter and chocolate in a double boiler. The recipe called for bittersweet chocolate, but I used semisweet since I had it on hand.

While the chocolate melted, I sifted flour, cocoa, baking powder and sugar together then set it aside.

20120325-200114.jpg

Once the chocolate mixture was melted I mixed it with 2 eggs, sugar and vanilla that I had beaten with my mixer. I then added the flour mixture a little at a time. The batter was then chilled for a few hours to harden up.

20120325-200607.jpg

Time to roll the cookies. I used a cookie scoop to make sure all the cookies were evenly sized. I rolled the batter balls in icing sugar like so:

20120325-200812.jpg
Don’t they look like powdered donuts?

Then onto cookie sheets they went:

20120325-200850.jpg

The oven was heated to 325 and the cookies baked for about 10 minutes. Just enough for them to firm up and crack:

20120325-201004.jpg

20120325-201128.jpg

These cookies are little nuggets of fudgey goodness. The white powdered sugar not only gives them a boost of sweetness, but gives them an interesting look as well. =)

Leave a Reply

