Cheddar Garlic Biscuits

How many of you have been to Red Lobster? I’m sure many of you have. You will have to agree with me that one reason you keep going back is not for their crabs or lobster but rather for their garlic cheese biscuits.

They always arrive at the table hot and soft. I always have to stop the waiter after the 2nd or 3rd refill or else there’s no room for my actual meal.

I have always wondered how they were made and I finally decided to make them myself.

It begins with the dry mixture – flour, baking soda, garlic salt and parsley. Then I cut some cold butter into flour and mixed it until the dough became crumbly.

20120626-171407.jpg

I grated some cheddar cheese and added that and buttermilk to the bowl.

20120626-171502.jpg

20120626-171509.jpg

I formed dough balls and into the oven.

20120626-171645.jpg

The biscuits baked for about 20 minutes. Once out of the oven, I glazed them with melted butter, parsley and garlic salt.

20120626-171953.jpg

20120626-172005.jpg

20120626-172015.jpg

As they baked, the smell of garlic butter wafted through the air. I could not wait for the biscuits to be done. They were crisp on the outside, although a bit pale and tender in the middle. I think they were comparable to the real thing. I had to wrap them up quickly or else I would have eaten them all. =)

One thought on “Cheddar Garlic Biscuits

Leave a Reply

