Bake Class – Sourdough starter

In an upcoming class I will be making a sourdough bread. But before I can bake anything, I have to cultivate a sourdough starter. The purpose of the starter is to produce a vigorous leaven and to develop the flavour of the bread. For a more in depth explanation check this out.

So the starter is an equal mix of water and flour. In this case the flour is bread flour and whole wheat.

20121027-220800.jpg

Using a wooden spoon I combined the water and flour to create a batter.

20121027-221038.jpg

Apparently, it is bad luck to not give your starter a name…it is a living thing after all. Meet Stan!

20121027-221339.jpg

Stan is off to bed now. In 2 days, he should hopefully be bubbling and I will feed him then.

20121027-221521.jpg

Fingers crossed… =)

2 thoughts on “Bake Class – Sourdough starter

    • Sweet Spell Baking Chick says:

      Thanks! I am a little scared of this too. But if Stan can make it, I’ll have sourdough by weeks end and hopefully dispel the myth that it is difficult to make. If I can do it, anyone can. =)

Leave a Reply

