Bread Class #5 – Holla for Challah Bread

Challah bread is a special Jewish celebration bread. Traditional challah recipes use numerous eggs, fine white flour, water, yeast, and sugar. Modern recipes may use fewer eggs (there are also eggless versions) and may replace white flour with whole wheat, oat, or spelt flour. Sometimes honey or molasses is substituted as a sweetener. The dough is rolled into rope-shaped pieces which are braided and brushed with an egg wash before baking to add a golden sheen. Sometimes raisins are added. Some bakers like to sprinkle sesame or poppy seeds on top for flavor.

Our recipe today is very simple, yeast, water, flour, salt, sugar, eggs and oil. Like always, we mixed the ingredients in the mixer until the dough pulled cleanly from the sides and then we left it alone to proof. Once divided, the dough could be braided although braiding is not always necessary.

Here was my attempt. I wasn’t keen enough to try the 6 strand braid so I did the easy 3 strand and I’m not really sure what I thought I was trying to do with my second…

20121028-203944.jpg

20121028-203951.jpg
Into the proofer for a short while.

20121028-204036.jpg
After the loaves had risen a little more, into the oven they went. Round and round.

20121028-204147.jpg
My end result.

20121028-204228.jpg
I wish I was better at braiding, but I get the idea. =)

One thought on “Bread Class #5 – Holla for Challah Bread

Leave a Reply

