The Sum of All Parts

Purchased some ingredients today to use in my bake class tomorrow. I won’t tell you what I’m making yet, I’ll save that reveal for later. But have a look at what I’m bringing in.

I have some marinated mushrooms.  They are marinated in some oil and vinegar and spices.

I have some black olives and rosemary.  I prefer black olives over green, I find that they aren’t as salty and I love the smell of rosemary. 

I have some garlic.  Scroll down a bit more to see what I did with these cloves.  

I have some herbed goat cheese.  I have become a fan of soft cheeses these days, Brie, blue cheese and now goat. 

Lastly, I have sun dried tomatoes and olive oil. 

I made an oil infusion with the olive oil, rosemary and some of the garlic.  A couple of sprigs of rosemary and a few bits of garlic left for 24 hours to allow the flavours to mix together.  Will be a great brushed over flavouring.  

Lastly, I roasted some garlic.  Ever roasted garlic?

This is how to do it.

Take the garlic head and peel off the other layer to reveal the cloves within.

Chop off about a centimeter  from the top of each, just exposing the garlic within. Pour some olive all over and then wrap in foil.

Throw this into the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes or if you feel through the foil that the garlic is soft. When, they are unwrapped, the garlic can be squeezed right out of their skins.  What I found amazing was how fragrant the garlic was and sweet.  It was like the garlic and oil had almost caramelized.  I made a paste and had to quickly hide it away.  I was eating it straight from the container!

Stay tuned to see how I use these ingredients in my bigger project tomorrow.  I have quite the vision in my head right now.  I hope I can make it come to life. =)

One thought on “The Sum of All Parts

Leave a Reply

