‘Twas a Bundt Dream

It started with a vision and wanting to use up some leftover ingredients from my bread bake class. Yes, bread class is done, how quickly 10 weeks passed. But at least until January, I have full weekends to myself, thus time to bake whatever my baking brain dreams up.

I had a vision for a Bundt cake accented with citrus peel and a lemon glaze.

IMG_2461Prepped my Bundt pan with the citrus peel. I wanted the top of the cake to immediately display the colourful and sweet peel.

IMG_2469Of course, per the norm, I began with some butter and sugar. Mixing until light and fluffy. Then added eggs, the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and then some more of the citrus peel.

IMG_2464

IMG_2466

 

IMG_2468

 

IMG_2465Once everything was mixed together, I dropped the batter into the Bundt pan and into the oven.

IMG_2470One hour later, here was my result.

IMG_2479

IMG_2480

IMG_2483

I then made a lemon glaze using powdered sugar and lemon juice. Just poured it over the cake and let it fall where it wanted.

IMG_2484

IMG_2485

IMG_2486

I think I may have slightly over baked it. It turns out that it does not need the full hour to bake. Now, I know. I gave the cake to my mom. She called immediately after trying her first slice. She said she liked it and wanted another, bigger version! =)

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “‘Twas a Bundt Dream

  1. I bought a 12 cup mini bundt tray the other week because it looked so gorgeous. Its still in its packaging. After reading your post I’m desperate to use it. Maybe in the New Year when things have quietened down a bit. Your cake looks delicious with the citrus peel and drizzle icing.

    • Sweet Spell Baking Chick says:

      Thanks! Mini individual versions of big things are my favourite! They’re so cute. I’m a lazy decorator so I think using a Bundt pan is an easy way to make something pretty without too much work!

Leave a Reply

