Christmas in the Distillery District

The Distillery District was full of people in festive spirits, all excited to partake in the Toronto Christmas Market. Held annually in the weeks leading up to Christmas, this free event is inspired by old world European traditions, with some modern twists. It showcases different food and drink as well as handcrafted goods and live entertainment.
IMG_2516

The Distillery District could not be a more perfect place to hold this event.The Distillery District is a national Historic Site with an incredibly rich history. The site was once The Gooderham and Worts Distillery, and represents the largest and best preserved collection of Victorian Industrial Architecture in North America.

In its time, The Gooderham and Worts Distillery played an important role in the growth and wealth of both the city and nation. In addition to various involvements in real estate and banking, the company at one time contributed more to Federal coffers than any other enterprise in the country.
IMG_2565
I have only been to this area a couple of times other than this night and I have enjoyed myself each time. It is like stepping back in time, seeing the old cobblestone roads and old buildings.IMG_2558

But then you look over and see modern art such as this:
IMG_2517
IMG_2523
I felt like I was in the movie “War of the Worlds”!

It was a little crowded this evening, after all, it was the second last night of the event. The sounds of crooner Matt Dusk and various carolers wafted in the air. All throughout the area, there were little huts set up with vendors selling their wares.
IMG_2533

Rides for the kids.IMG_2528

I visited a little shop called Jacob & Sebastian. They specialize in what they call “niche market beauty lines that get lots of editorial attention but little exposure”. In other words, luxury bath and body beauty products that may be hard to find. I was able to pick up some Blood Orange Perfume Oil made by a company called Mor Cosmetics. Fragrant and light, the scent did not fade as the time wore on and better yet did not give me a headache or make me sneeze. I had to have it.
IMG_2570

IMG_2571

Of course, my night is never complete unless I indulge in some treats. The Distillery has some great restaurants and cafes. I once had the pleasure of attending a Winterlicious event held at Archeo, an Italian inspired restaurant. But this night, I was there to take in the offerings of the outdoor market vendors. It began with some poutine. A Canadian thing.
IMG_2542
IMG_2548

IMG_2550
Squeaky cheese curds, hot gravy, crispy fries. It has been a while since I’ve eaten poutine. It was freezing and raining outside so ate the poutine inside a furniture shop, doubling as a warming centre. Felt like I was in my living room. But I don’t have antique cupboards like that at my place!

Next up was some prime rib on a bun. IMG_2551

IMG_2554
Succulent meat and sweet sautéed onions. The server piled on the meat and onions, that I could not eat the bun, there was so much packed into this sandwich.

My third snack was pierogies. I never seem to be able to say no to pierogies. Cheese, potato pierogies with sour cream. I should have said yes to the onion though!
IMG_2555

IMG_2557

And to wash down all this food…Mill St. Organic Lager.  Walking around, beer in hand, kinda fun.

IMG_2552

IMG_2561

Now, it was getting cold, legs were feeling numb.  It was time to move it indoors. The food finale involved a peach bellini and some waffles and fruit.  Breakfast for a late, late dinner…works for me!

IMG_2572

IMG_2574

A great way to get into mood for Christmas, I will certainly be back next year.  =)

IMG_2532

 

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas in the Distillery District

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Looks like a lot of fun. I haven’t been in Toronto in years. Love the distillery district. All the food looks delicious!

  2. Sweet Spell Baking Chick says:

    There is always something fun going on here in the city, I love it. And I love it even more when there’s good food involved! =)

Leave a Reply

