Golden Butter Cake

This recipe comes courtesy of a co-worker of mine.  She periodically bring this cake in to share with us and it is a favourite of mine.  She shared the recipe with me and I decided to make it today.

It began with butter and sugar which I beat until it turned light and fluffy then I added four eggs.   Once the eggs, butter and sugar were mixed well, I added flour and baking powder.  Her recipe called for vanilla but I was doing this my way, so I went with almond extract instead.

IMG_2629

IMG_2630

 

 

IMG_2631The mixture was very sticky.  Using a spatula, I moved the mixture to a prepared cake pan and threw it into the oven for about 45 minutes.

IMG_2632At the end of 45 minutes, we have Golden Butter Cake!!

IMG_2645 IMG_2646 IMG_2648 IMG_2649 IMG_2650I love the simplicity of this cake, it is fool-proof.   Straight from the oven, there is a slight crispness on the outside and the middle is so moist and rich in buttery goodness.  I love the hint of almond flavour with the addition of almond extract.  How about that colour!?  This cake would be perfect with a cup of tea or coffee or maybe as a breakfast cake.  So happy to have this in my repertoire now!  =)

Leave a Reply

