I can’t believe it’s cauliflower!

So recall my image from kitchen experiments?

Well, all those ingredients went into making cauliflower fettuccine. As in, I made pasta sauce out of cauliflower. Clearly cauliflower is still my vegetable du jour, so how excited was I to try my hand at using it to make a sauce. It’s better than a ton of cream and cheese.

So I began with my cauliflower, washed and cut up. Into a pot of boiling vegetable broth until soft. About 15 – 20 minutes.

20121228-152827.jpg

20121228-152834.jpg
As this boiled, I sautéed some garlic in a little olive oil and set aside.

20121228-153923.jpg
By now the cauliflower is ready to be turned into sauce. All the cauliflower went into the blender along with about 3 cups of the broth. I also added the garlic, some black pepper, salt, olive oil and a pinch of pumpkin spice (yes pumpkin spice. I didn’t have nutmeg, this was the next best thing on hand). Did you know nutmeg goes well with cauliflower?

20121228-154135.jpg
Purée, purée, purée…

20121228-154207.jpg

The purée is then put back into a saucepan and a little bit of milk is added. You could use cream or even omit completely. As I found out, it just helps to thicken the sauce but really does nothing for flavour.

20121228-154436.jpg
The sauce sat warming and thickening as I cooked my noodles and contemplated cleaning up my kitchen. If there’s one thing about this recipe, it’s that you will be using quite a few pots and utensils to cook it up. Or maybe it’s just me, when I’m in the kitchen, it sometimes looks like a hurricane pulled through.

I always like to add a little something extra when I make pasta be it some meat like chicken or some sort of vegetable. I went with vegetable this time and one I have never cooked or eaten before – kale. Related to the cabbage family kale is very high in beta carotene, vitamin K, vitamin C, lutein, zeaxanthin, and rich in calcium. Kale, contains sulforaphane (particularly when chopped or minced), a chemical with potent anti-cancer properties. It is also a source of indole-3-carbinol, a chemical which boosts DNA repair in cells and appears to block the growth of cancer cells. (Thanks Wikipedia lol). In any case, I thought I would try it out.

20121228-155522.jpg

I took off the stems and rolled up the leaves so I could cut them chiffonade (into ribbons).

20121228-155836.jpg

20121228-155841.jpg

20121228-155848.jpg
I quickly sautéed the kale with olive oil, garlic and a little bit of the remaining vegetable broth from earlier. Just until they reduce down a bit and are tender.

20121228-155947.jpg

Assembly time…

20121228-160035.jpg whole wheat fettuccine.

20121228-160107.jpg

20121228-160114.jpg

20121228-160120.jpg

I am in LOVE with this sauce. It was so creamy smooth and rich and savoury. I truly believe if someone gave me this and did not tell me it was cauliflower, I would never know the difference. It was creamy and rich. The kale added some great contrast in both colour, taste and texture. A little “crunchy” and a little bitter, it was perfect. But one could use any vegetable here, maybe mushrooms or broccoli instead. The possibilities are endless with this sauce. Definitely a “must make again” dish.

Now, I’m off to clean up =)

3 thoughts on “I can’t believe it’s cauliflower!

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    I love cauliflower, nutmeg or pumpkin spice, kale and fettuccine! And they look and sound so good together. I am making this!! Love the cauli sauce; delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

