Eating Up The Kale

So, just trying to eat up the veggies in my fridge before they go bad. I think perhaps my eyes were bigger than my stomach…yet again. It’s Sunday and I’m lazy plus I am not in need of making a lunch or dinner for the next couple of days, so I am definitely not cooking up a big meal.

I keep coming across articles and recipes for kale chips. People seem to swear by them – “the BEST chips ever!”. Well, no better time to try this.

My kale, washed and well dried. Ripped into fairly big pieces since they apparently shrink up.

20121230-205817.jpg

I put the kale pieces into a ziplock bag along with one tablespoon of olive oil. I shook the bag lightly, just trying to ensure all the leaves get coated by the oil.

20121230-205928.jpg

20121230-205934.jpg

Then I laid them in a single layer on a lined cookie sheet and sprinkled some garlic salt all over. Not too much.

20121230-210154.jpg

Into the oven for about 17 minutes, just until I started to see some of the leaves turning a bit brown. And then I had kale chips.

20121230-210419.jpg

20121230-210426.jpg

They certainly were crispy but were very light. Just enough saltiness. I suppose it’s a good way to eat up kale. Wouldn’t say they were “the BEST ever” but they were pretty good. =)

2 thoughts on “Eating Up The Kale

    • Yeah, I wouldn’t say they are the best. Perhaps it has to do with whatever seasonings people use.

      If you want a good chip, look up a brand called Simply 7. I’ve been recently turned onto these chips. They make a great lentil chip as well as hummus chips. Different flavors. I swear by the creamy dill lentil chip. If you find Simply 7 in your neck of the woods, definitely give them a try =)

Leave a Reply

