The Marinade of My Dreams

I did not plan on posting about this meal, I will admit, it really is not anything to rave about, but I wanted to share my marinade revelation. I had spent the morning debating ordering in dinner vs. going out. (Yep, I’m a planner) I couldn’t decide what to order in and then determined that I was not in the mood to get dressed up to go out for dinner so the only option was to cook something up.

I don’t normally eat red meat, but I had some flank steak on hand and I was not looking to cook up anything anything too intensive. Flank steak made the menu this night.

I came across a marinade that was easy. I had most of the ingredients on hand, others I substituted or added on my own. The marinade consisted of: Dijon mustard ( I only had Russian mustard, a bit on the sweeter side), garlic salt (too lazy to mince up some garlic cloves), soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, some Italian seasonings – rosemary, thyme, basil, oregano, olive oil and my last minute addition, balsamic vinegar. The acidity of the lemon juice and vinegar help to tenderize the meat slightly.

I let the meat marinate for about 6 hours in a plastic bag and then into the oven to broil for a bit.

20130105-183526.jpg

My sides – my fave carrots were back, and some whole wheat fusilli with some garlic soy spread. Nothing fancy.

20130105-183703.jpg

20130105-183710.jpg

My yummy dinner.

20130105-183802.jpg

How delightful on my tastebuds was this marinade on the flank steak. An amazing balance of sweet and tangy on the tender slices of steak. Perhaps a bit on the rare side (I like it like that) but was it ever good! I just could not get enough, but I behaved and did not over indulge. The next time I decide to partake in some red meat, I will be sure to make this again I think. =)

2 thoughts on “The Marinade of My Dreams

  1. CT says:

    This looks delicious! Flank steak is one of our favs to marinade. We use red wine, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, chopped garlic or garlic powder, a little bit of brown sugar and a pinch of ginger powder. Next time if you have those items try it and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

