Weird Times, Weird Muffins

It’s funny what prompts me to bake. Usually it’s because I crave something. Many times it is to lift my mood, kill stress and bring me back to sanity. Sometimes I just see something and wonder…hmmm…can that be baked into something? Let’s try!

Felt slightly off kilter the last few days, looked over, saw an avocado and wondered…hmmm…can I bake that? Let’s try!

So it begins quite ordinarily. Whole wheat flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt.

20130108-210344.jpg

Then the wet stuff. Avocado, chocolate almond milk, maple syrup, honey, oil and vanilla.

20130108-210528.jpg

20130108-210536.jpg
So let me let you in on some things:
1. I did not purée my avocado. Probably should have, but well, I just refused to take out the blender, so I whipped the avocado and did some manual mashing with a spatula. So yes, you will see little flecks of green.
2. I did not have plain or vanilla soy or almond milk, so I used chocolate almond milk.
3. I did not have a full cup of maple syrup, so I used half maple syrup, half honey. If I had used all maple syrup, this would be fully vegan I believe.

Next, I poured the wet mixture into the dry and began to mix by hand. And I mixed and mixed some more. Seemed to take forever!

20130108-211232.jpg

20130108-211240.jpg

I added some chocolate chips and then into the muffin tin. A little haphazardly, but no batter went wasted.

20130108-211343.jpg

25 minutes later.

20130108-211451.jpg

20130108-211457.jpg

20130108-211557.jpg

So, the verdict. Interesting. Big chocolate taste but not sweet. Moist. Cakey texture, but slightly fudgey in parts, especially of there’s a pocket of chocolate chips. I did not see too many flecks of avocado green, but I do taste it slightly. Again, depends on the bite taken. No sugar, no butter, no eggs. Again, use maple syrup and vegan chocolate chips and you have a vegan friendly dessert. And now I know, you can bake with avocados. =)

Leave a Reply

