Mistake Cake

An idea popped into my head for a way to use up the leftover pastry cream I have. Initially, I was going to bake a cake. Then I decided on cupcakes instead. I was mixing the batter and for some reason added an extra cup of flour. I only realized this after watching my batter become super sticky and dense. I hate wasting ingredients so I added some more rice milk and a little oil. I put them in the oven and hoped for the best.

20130127-211628.jpg

20130127-211644.jpg

20130127-211651.jpg

They finished baking and came out a little pale on top. The outside was slightly crispy but the inside was shockingly fluffy. I added the remainder of my vanilla sugar from Beanilla and the flavour picked up in the cupcakes and I saw nice flecks of vanilla bean.

They are currently cooling. Stage two tomorrow. =)

One thought on “Mistake Cake

Leave a Reply

