Summerlicious – Bloom Restaurant

To bloom means to flower, to grow, to thrive, to blossom. I feel that I have started to grow and thrive these days. I feel lighter and more focused. I’ve decided to make some changes in my life. Some simple changes like choosing to try to eat better, be more active and stress less about things I cannot control to some more complicated things related to career moves, personal relationships & friendships.

How fitting that this Summerlicious event happened at Bloom Restaurant – http://bloomrestaurant.com located on Bloor St, between Runnymede and Jane. A latin inspired food or “nuevo latino” establishment.

It was a stormy night. See the dark clouds roll in.

IMG_4849

I made it to the restaurant just as the rain began to pelt.

IMG_4850

I stood in the doorway, early for my reservation and waiting for my friends to show, watching the downpour.  One of servers, the only lady, possibly one of the owners ushered me in and said, “Why don’t you come inside? Let’s get you to your table, you can wait there.” I was welcomed and taken to a round booth in the back.  The other gentleman server asked if I wanted a drink and then another laid the white cloth napkin on my lap.  I sat and waited and enjoyed my glass of Punto Final Classic Malbec.

IMG_4857

IMG_4854

Time to start ordering.  An appetizer of Ceviche Mixto – citrus marinated fish & seafood, sweet Habanero and cilantro.  Fresh and light.  I could have had 2 of these plates.

IMG_4860 IMG_4861

The main course Antichuchos – shrimp, scallops & salmon skewers in adobo sauce, chaufa rice, ginger-mango salsa.  Good pieces of seafood, the rice reminded me asian fried rice.  It was well flavoured.

IMG_4862 IMG_4863

Dessert time brought us Pudin de Guayaba – croissants, caramel and guava pudding with vanilla creme Anglaise.  Had the consistency of a bread pudding.  Fruity, a bit tart.  Enjoyable.

IMG_4864 IMG_4865

A night isn’t over until 2 desserts are had.  So why not some frozen yogurt?

IMG_4866

An excellent night.  It’s nice being in a good head space for once and enjoying a great meal with some good peeps. =)

2 thoughts on “Summerlicious – Bloom Restaurant

  1. A group of best friends can save the world when they get together, can’t they? Yay for besties and ‘quality bestie time’, a common phrase within my group of best friends.

Leave a Reply

