Tirgan Festival – Harbourfront Centre

I had the urge to be down by the water this weekend.  I wanted to be outside to soak up some sun and sights and the weather could not have been more perfect.  Toronto’s waterfront is going through some improvements and I have to say that I am liking what I see so far.   It turns out that this weekend Harbourfront Centre was hosting the Tirgan Festival http://www.harbourfrontcentre.com/summer/tirganfestival/  a celebration of traditional art and culture of Iran.  I was excited for this bonus and to hang out with my Peep C and Baby K-man.

My first view. image-15

My second view – Skydome..I mean, Rogers Centre and the CN Tower. image-16

First stop is to eat, of course.  Off to the World Cafe for some Iranian Food.

image-18

Parsian Fine Foods for Koobideh kebab and rice.  Koobideh is made with spiced minced lamb and beef and then grilled.  The rice is called Polo – Persian rice pilaf with oil, salt and saffron.  Delicious.

image-21

image-19

image-20

image-22

Strolling around.

image-29

Listening to some drumming.

image-28

Some shopping.

image-49

A caffeine pick me up.

image-36

Watching ships go by while sitting by the beach.
image-32

image-41

Samosas!

image-48

Mmmm, watermelon.

image-31

image-30

A cooling honey-dew melon drink.

image-42

Some other views.

image-39

image-40

That is a one giant beach ball!

image-35

Cow art.

image-37

A glass case of sweet treats.  An assortment of Persian pastries made with phyllo, honey and nuts from Red Rose Patisserie.

image-27

image-26

image-43

image-45

 A day is not complete without some ice cream.  Baskin Robbins.  Had to.  Mango Mania.

image-51

Day is done.  Goodnight Toronto.  =)

image-53

Leave a Reply

