Apple Butter Pork Tenderloin

Part two of my apple butter experiment.  Apple and pork are a delicious pair.  For my Sunday night cook off, I made a pork tenderloin with apple butter sauce.  So, let me say that this would be the first time I have ever made anything involving pork tenderloin.  I’m always game to try out something new.  So here goes…

Again, making do with what is in my kitchen, the only ingredient I had to purchase today was the piece of meat.  I took the pork and seasoned with some garlic salt and pepper.  I then laid some thinly sliced apple on top and poured some apple juice on the meat.

image-64

image-66

image-67

I then wrapped up the pork en papillote and baked it for an hour.  While it baked, I prepared the apple butter sauce – apple butter, brown sugar, some pumpkin spice and a little bit of water to thin it out.  After an hour, I took the pork out and spread the sauce all over.  Then back into the oven for another hour and a half.

image-68

image-69

image-70

image-73

I have to say that I was drooling as the scent of apples wafted in the air.  I could not wait to try this out.  Finally time to take it out of the oven. photo 1-1

photo 3-1

photo 2-1

Oh my word, so fantastic.  Sweet and savoury,  the meat was tender and moist having absorbed a bit of the apple juice.  I think I may have to make this again. Now, just to find the perfect sides and lunch is set.  =)

Leave a Reply

