Mabuhay Philippines Festival

Mabuhay is a greeting meaning Long Live. This weekend’s adventure took me back to Toronto’s waterfront to check out the Mabuhay Philippines Festival.

Not living with my parents means not being able to eat home cooked Filipino food as often as I used to. And seeing as I don’t cook any myself, it was necessary that I go get my fix at this festival. It was a two day affair for me. One day wasn’t enough to satisfy.

My fave CN Tower, peeking through the trees.

20130818-215433.jpg

Delicious BBQ chicken and pork skewers. Even better on my 2nd visit. Also some Palabok – a rice noodle dish with a shrimp based sauce and some Lumpia Shanghai – meat rolls.

20130818-215721.jpg

Not a Filipino beer but still good while sitting out and enjoying the view.

20130818-215831.jpg

Again, not Filipino, but a custard filled donut enveloped in chocolate.

20130818-215929.jpg

Back to the Filipino food, here’s some Longanisa – sweet pork sausage – and some white rice. Love this for breakfast.

20130818-220216.jpg

Sweets table – puto, ube, palitaw and kutsinta – many made with rice flour, coconut, sugar, purple yam – and all delicious.

20130818-220510.jpg

I took home some cassava cake.

20130818-220533.jpg

And had some refreshing juices. Friday I had melon, Saturday I tried the buko pandan – young coconut.

20130818-220813.jpg

I came back for Pinakbet – a veggie dish and enjoyed some Pancit – thin noodles and so good.

20130818-221129.jpg

Another fantastic festival and great time spent at Harbourfront. Love it! =)

2 thoughts on “Mabuhay Philippines Festival

  1. diet plan for la weight loss says:

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging
    for? you made blogging look easy. The overall
    look of your web site is excellent, as well as the content!

Leave a Reply

