Colorado Chronicles 2013 – Part I

I am currently on vacation in Colorado, started in Denver and surrounding area and have now made my way up to the mountains. The weather isn’t as bright and sunny as I have been used to in the past, it is raining mostly with many areas being hit with flash floods. Thankfully, I’ve been able to steer clear of the badly hit parts. I am not letting some raindrops hinder me. I’m eating lots of yummy stuff (I am in desperate need of a treadmill now),checking out new restaurants and seeing some gorgeous scenery. Let’s begin!

I am amazed at how airports evolve. Toronto’s Pearson International Airport has been under constant construction for years now and since my last visit has turned gate waiting areas into gate waiting restaurants. One can sit down, charge their phone, work on their computers and have a meal or a cocktail while waiting until it is time to board their plane. What a cool concept!

IMG_5557
IMG_5554

The flight to Denver was a quick 3 hour jaunt but we were famished upon arrival. Dinner at Old Chicago pizza and taproom. I had the Chicago 7 Stromboli sandwich – Pepperoni, Italian sausage, red onions, black olives, green peppers, sliced mushrooms and signature house pizza sauce baked into house made dough. Some veggies on the side. Super filling. There goes the diet. Washed it down with a pint of the Dry Dock Apricot Blonde, a fruit beer from a craft brewery located in Aurora, Colorado. Nice and light, would have been perfect on a super hot day. For dessert, a giant soft, gooey, pan chocolate chip cookie – shared of course. Come on, it’s a giant cookie! IMG_5564IMG_5565IMG_5562IMG_5567IMG_5568

Travel days can take their toll, so it was off to check in and relax at the hotel, eat some more cookies, unpack and get ready for a full week ahead.

Stay tuned… =)

Leave a Reply

