Colorado Chronicles 2013 – Part II

It’s shopping day! With only part of the week being spent in the city, shopping time was at a premium, especially with so many stores and malls to hit. I’ve had luck in the past finding things here in Colorado that would ordinarily cost a bit more back home in Toronto. I’m all about deals.

A full day of shopping requires energy and they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Off to The Original Pancake House. IMG_5571
A quaint place with a cozy home kitchen feel. IMG_5581

IMG_5580

IMG_5578

IMG_5579

I’ve been off the coffee for a while now, but I was feeling a bit sluggish, so I needed a pick me up. This was a really good cup. IMG_5573

What to eat? I opted for the Three Little Pigs in Blankets – specially made sausage links wrapped in light buttermilk pancakes, dusted with some icing sugar and a dollop of whipped butter. Nice spice to the sausage links, pancakes were light and I could have gone for a few more drops of whipped butter. IMG_5576IMG_5575IMG_5577

I am no stranger to Jason’s Deli having first tried it on my trip to Mesa, Arizona last year. I am fan of their sandwiches and pasta. It was no brainer that lunch would have to be here today.
It was pouring outside, but I was inside eating a yummy sandwich IMG_5590

A peach iced tea and order #8 (my favourite number)IMG_5583

My sandwich of choice? The Club Royale – Toasted croissant with smoked turkey breast, ham, bacon, Swiss, cheddar, leafy lettuce, tomato, honey mustard. IMG_5588IMG_5589IMG_5587 Again, a winner. The croissant was so flakey and buttery and full of yummy fillings. I could go for another!

After spending most of the day going from store to store around town, the evening brought us to Park Meadows Mall and dinner at Yard House.

A few apps for the table to share – Fried Calamari, Grilled Sweet Korean BBQ Beef & Hawaiian Poke Stack IMG_5603IMG_5602IMG_5601

A beer for me – Sea Dog Bluepaw Wild Blueberry. A wheat beer with a faint hint of blueberry. Really enjoyed this drink.
IMG_5596

My dinner entree – Ahi Crunchy Salad – seared rare, field greens, asian slaw and crispy wontons tossed in soy vinaigrette. IMG_5604IMG_5605

A lively place, Yardhouse carries many beers on tap and tons of sports on tv. The food was decent, tasty and well portioned. IMG_5606

Fantastic eats today. Fantastic shopping day too. Check out my haul! =) IMG_5665

Leave a Reply

