Pastry Class – Apple Strudel

Back to baking class! This time I am enrolled in Pastry and my first class we put together some puff pastry to be used in later classes. I missed my second class for a prior engagement, but I took my puff pastry home to try my hand at apple strudel on my own. Here goes.

It begins by rolling out my pastry dough into a fairly thin rectangle of sorts.

IMG_5969 IMG_5970

Then I cut some diagonal slits along the sides. These will be used to cross over and cover the apple filling.

IMG_5971

A very simple filling. I just sliced 2 apples, added some pumpkin spice and brown sugar. Then layered the apple filling down the middle of the dough. IMG_5968 IMG_5972

Crossed over the strips of dough.

IMG_5973

Then into the oven to bake for about 40 minutes, until the dough became golden. I made the mistake of forgetting the egg wash, so my dough was a little pale. But next time, I’ll remember better.

IMG_5974

This one was a hit at the office this Monday morning. A crowd favourite! =)

Leave a Reply

