Hotel Living in Mesa

I’ve recently returned from Mesa, Arizona where I spent a week working.  My one big concern was what I would be eating.  My goal was to avoid eating at any fast food chain and try to eat freshly made meals as much as possible and as little junk food as possible.  It helped that there was a restaurant downstairs in the hotel I was staying at.

Standard breakfast buffet each morning.  I became obsessed with these chicken apple breakfast sausages by Saag’s.

http://www.saags.com/pc/viewProducts.asp?Category=c11.Breakfast%20Meats

I ate some every morning and still crave them now that I am home.  Unfortunately, the grocery stores here do not carry this brand, so I may have to make a trip across the border to get some.

IMG_6142

As the week wore on, I began to snack on the cocoa puffs and froot loops.  I would take a bowl up to my room and munch on them like chips. One of my few junk food indulgences.  I don’t consider these to be proper breakfast foods, whole grains or not.

IMG_6198 IMG_6199

Cream cheese and lox.  Watermelon every morning too.

IMG_6141

Fresh made waffles with strawberries and maple syrup.

IMG_6144

For Halloween, the hotel had a pumpkin display in the lobby.  A big food theme laid out in pumpkin carvings.  Very creative.

IMG_6119

IMG_6120

IMG_6118

The Zuni Grill, hotel restaurant.

IMG_6133

Beef nachos.  I had this a couple of times.  The nachos never became soggy under all the toppings.  I love the crunch of a nacho chip.

IMG_6131

Chicken and salad, a side of grilled asparagus.  Delicious.

IMG_6134 IMG_6135

White chocolate, creme brûlée cheesecake.  Ultra rich, took me two nights to eat it all.

IMG_6136

Calamari.  I had high hopes for this appetizer, but was let down.  Overly salted.

IMG_6202

Beef fajitas and chicken soup.  I end up just eating the beef with the rice and dipping the flatbread into my soup.

IMG_6205

A spiked peach tea.  Enjoyable, a few times during the week.

IMG_6194

A little quiche Lorraine for lunch while waiting at the airport to fly back home.

IMG_6226

“Yummy” pizza on the plane.  Never again.  But when you’re hungry, you’re hungry and even in the air, supper time still exists.

IMG_6229

The best part about plane travel? Having an entire row to oneself.  I ate my pizza and watched movies in stretched out comfort.

IMG_6230

The sun sets on plane wings.

IMG_6233

Mesa, it was swell, but I’m happy to be home now.  =)

One thought on “Hotel Living in Mesa

Leave a Reply

