Pie Class – Super Sweet Chocolate Pecan Pie

Classes are coming to an end.  I love them, but I am ready to claim my weekends back.  Again, two pies – chocolate pecan pie and chocolate walnut raisin pie.

The corn syrup base to which we add the nuts.  I was happy to learn that one could substitute maple syrup or rice syrup instead of corn syrup.  IMG_6459

Toasted pecans and walnuts.

IMG_6460

IMG_6461

Chocolate cookie dough for the pie crust.  That’s right, it’s cookie dough!

IMG_6462

IMG_6463

Laying down the nut fillings.

IMG_6464

IMG_6465

IMG_6467

IMG_6468

Now, we didn’t chill our pies long enough before baking so, my wavy pie crust, failed to stay up while baking.  Next time, no rushing!

IMG_6469

IMG_6470

When I got home, I made thumbprint cookies with the leftover cookie dough.  A milk chocolate centre.IMG_6471

IMG_6472

IMG_6473

I do enjoy pecan pie and the cookie dough crust was an awesome touch.  A tad too sweet for me however, but it was an office hit.  I had line-ups of people clamouring for a slice.  This pie is a winner. =)

Leave a Reply

