Milk Chocolate Coffee Cake

“Where you used to be, there is a hole in the world, which I find myself constantly walking around in the daytime, and falling in at night. I miss you like hell.”
— Edna St. Vincent Millay

Christmas has come and gone.  Here’s hoping you all have had a good holiday season so far.  I’ve been off work for a week now, with one more to go. I’m loving every second of it. It’s been an extremely low-key holiday for me.  It’s amazing what a person can do if given countless hours to do whatever they want.  I’ve been a bit of hermit this week,  spending my time watching movies and re-organizing my home.  After filling 10 garbage bags full of unused clothing and shoes, I’ve dared myself to stop any frivolous shopping in 2014.  I never keep my resolutions, so we’ll see what happens…

Shockingly, I’ve done very little baking during my time off.  I had a wicked craving for cookies so I made a batch of chocolate chip cookies.  Aside from that, I’ve made this milk chocolate coffee cake for my mom.

Prep work first.  Melt some milk chocolate with about a tablespoon of butter over a double boiler. In this case I just used a Hershey chocolate bar.  Feel free to go dark or turn this into a marble cake and use some white chocolate.

IMG_6626

You’ll need about a tablespoon of coffee.

IMG_6629

And then line a loaf pan so that the cake won’t stick.

IMG_6630

In a mixing bowl, cream 3/4 cup of room temp butter and 1 cup brown sugar.

IMG_6632

Meanwhile, measure out the dry ingredients. 1 and 1/4 cups flour, 1/2 cup cocoa and 1 teaspoon baking powder.IMG_6631

By now, the butter and sugar should be nice and fluffy, begin adding 3 eggs, one at a time. IMG_6634 IMG_6636

Once mixed, add the flour mixture.  Mix.  Add the coffee. Mix. Then the melted chocolate. Mix.

IMG_6638

IMG_6639

It will end up looking like this.IMG_6640

You can then pour this into the prepared loaf pan. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_6641

IMG_6642

Voila!

IMG_6643

IMG_6644

Let cool and then slice.  You’ll find this cake light and soft, milk chocolate flavour all the way throughout.  Perfect with a cup of coffee or tea.  Or perhaps paired with some vanilla ice cream.  =)

4 thoughts on “Milk Chocolate Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

