Gluten-Free Banana Walnut Nutella Loaf

“What would I do without your smart mouth? Drawing me in, and you kicking me out. You’ve got my head spinning, no kidding, I can’t pin you down. What’s going on in that beautiful mind? I’m on your magical mystery ride. And I’m so dizzy, don’t know what hit me, but I’ll be alright.” John Legend – All of me

*************

So typical, what else does one make when they have bananas they need to use up?  Banana loaf.  This time however, this isn’t just a plain old banana loaf, it’s a gluten-free banana walnut Nutella loaf.

For this recipe, alongside bananas, I am using Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free flour and coconut sugar. IMG_7211

IMG_7212

A one bowl recipe, I mixed oil, eggs, coconut sugar, baking soda, salt, vanilla, gluten-free flour and xanthan gum.  In the world of gluten-free baking, xanthan gum plays the important role of imitating gluten. In baking, gluten is what makes dough “doughy.” It gives the dough elasticity, as well as viscosity. Those properties help to hold a cookie together while it bakes on a sheet in the oven, and they enable cakes and breads to hold onto the gas bubbles that form inside them – this allows them to rise and take shape. Xanthan gum helps replicate these properties in recipes that do not contain gluten.  I then added walnuts for some crunch and my ever favourite Nutella.  A few spoonfuls.

IMG_7213_Fotor_Collage

Into the oven and after 50 minutes…

IMG_7219

IMG_7222

IMG_7223

I tried to have no expectations with this recipe.  For me, it was pure experimentation, just trying to put flavours I enjoy in one place.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The bread was soft and moist.  The sweetness came from the bananas mostly and there was a perfectly subtle Nutella taste in each bite.  This bread has an excellent chance of being made over and over again.  =)

Leave a Reply

