Gluten Free Strawberry Bread

I love going to the grocery store.  I probably hit up various grocery stores or markets at least 3 to 4 times a week.  I sometimes love cruising up and down the aisles buying ingredients for dishes that pop into my head without a solid plan for making the dish in the near future.  I think I may need an intervention.  Another thing I am terrible for is buying food just for the sake that it’s on sale and not necessarily because I plan to eat it or use it right away.

Last week I purchased some strawberries that were on sale thinking that I could use them in my morning smoothies.  Let’s just say, I went a full week without making one smoothie, thus, one week later I have a pint of strawberries that NEED to be used up.  Well, a smoothie will probably happen tomorrow.  But strawberry bread happened last night.

A variation of the gluten-free banana loaf from the other day.  In this case however, I used brown sugar instead of the coconut sugar.  No reason why, I just felt like it.

First off, time to smoosh up the strawberries.  Yes, I wrote smoosh.  Using my hands, I let out some angst on these fairly ripe berries. IMG_7239_Fotor_Collage

A usual mixture of gluten-free flour, xanthan gum, brown sugar, oil, eggs, lots of vanilla and of course the smooshed strawberries. IMG_7241_Fotor_Collage

Into a prepared loaf pan and then into the oven for about 45 minutes.

IMG_7243

Et Voila!IMG_7245

IMG_7246

Very cakey in texture.  Strawberries and vanilla are a classic combo.  This would probably taste really good with a dollop of whipped cream on it… =)

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Strawberry Bread

    • Sure! Here it is:
      1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil
      2/3 cup sugar (brown or white)
      2 large eggs
      vanilla – to taste
      1 3/4 cups Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour like Bob’s Red Mill for example or a ready made mix
      2 tsp Xanthan Gum (but only if your gluten free mix doesn’t have it already)
      1/2 tsp salt
      1 1/2 cups of strawberries (or any fruit you feel like.

Leave a Reply

