A Try At Biscotti

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post.  Sometimes I find it so hard to get in the mood to sit and write.

How do you stay motivated to get your posts done?

A few weekends ago I set my sights on making biscotti.  I wanted to specifically make almond biscotti.  I was craving the flavour of almonds.  The ingredient list is simple: Flour, baking powder, salt, ground almonds, whole almonds, sugar, an egg and almond extract.

The process is simple too: sift the flour, salt and baking powder, add the ground and whole almonds and sugar, mix it then add the egg.

Then you have to get your hands in there and begin to form the dough log.  I found the dough to be very crumbly and in hindsight, I probably should have added another egg, but I made do.  Parchment paper is wonderful and it was put to good use in trying to roll a log with this crumbly dough. IMG_7347

IMG_7348

Time for the first bake – 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

After 30 minutes, the dough is crisp outside, but soft in the middle.  Leave to cool.  I was impatient and waited just until I could handle it with my hands.  It needs to now be sliced into diagonal slices.

IMG_7350

Place the diagonal slices back on the cookie tray.  Time for a second bake to harden them.

IMG_7351

After another 30 minutes, the biscotti are ready.  Delicious almond flavour with that great expected biscotti cookie crunch.  IMG_7353

IMG_7354

Always terrific with a steaming mug of java or tea! =)

One thought on “A Try At Biscotti

Leave a Reply

