Hot Wheels Birthday Cake

Baking Tune – “La La La” – Sam Smith


My nephew turned three years old a few days ago and his birthday party was today.  I was delighted to be asked to bake his birthday cake.  Knowing he had an affinity for cars, there was no doubt I would have to make a car themed cake.  Better yet, a Hot Wheels cake.

As requested, it was strawberry shortcake and decorated in bright colours.

I didn’t realize it at the time but I bought Hot Wheels in the same colours that ended up being used on the cake.

IMG_7943

Checkered flag – black & white.

IMG_7956

Fondant race track and bright coloured buttercream all over.

IMG_7958 IMG_7959 IMG_7960

Everything piped by hand.

IMG_7961

All sliced up.  Whipped cream and strawberries in between the two layers of moist vanilla cake.

IMG_7975

Birthday boy playing with his cars and eating his cake.

IMG_7978

Besides making a little boy happy with a cool car cake and hanging out with my good Peeps, I got to do something else fun…

IMG_7994

That’s right, there was a bouncy castle…and I did go in it, if only for a few minutes.  Who doesn’t like feeling like a little kid once in a while?!

IMG_7981

A fantastic way to spend an awesome Sunday Funday.  Food, drinks, Peeps, bouncy castle and by far the best cake I’ve made so far.  =)

Leave a Reply

