Bacon Wrapped Chicken Breast

I think this attempt at cooking came after watching an episode of You Gotta Eat Here.  The host was at a restaurant where the chef was making stuffed chicken breast.  I thought to myself, I feel like making that.

So then the question became what did I have  in my fridge that I could use to make stuffed chicken?  Well, obviously I had chicken.  I also had some spinach, blue cheese and bacon.  I thought what great ingredients to use as stuffing!

Well, one thing about me is that as much as like to play girl scout and be prepared and ready with a plan, I do often times change my mind last-minute.  And that is what happened in this case.  Stuffed chicken turned into bacon wrapped chicken.

The first thing I did was slice the chicken breast in half and with a mallet, flatten it slightly. I then seasoned with salt and pepper and layered spinach leaves down.  On top of the spinach, layer some blue cheese.  Now the fun part, wrapping it all with bacon.  IMG_2613_Fotor_Collage

Each chicken piece took about two strips of bacon, three if I was feeling generous and wanted full coverage.  Then it all went into the oven to bake until the chicken reached 165 degrees and a few minutes under the broiler to crisp up the bacon. Then you have it, bacon wrapped chicken breast. =)

Leave a Reply

