Chocolate Peanut Butter Chickpea Brownies

  As I perused Pinterest one day, I came across this interesting recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Chickpea Brownies.  Yes, you read chickpeas.  I hope I didn’t lose you.  The recipe indicated vegan and gluten-free and I am always looking for good GF recipes to try.  I had to make these.

Essentially, the recipe involves blending chickpeas and once smooth adding maple syrup (for sweetness), baking powder, some salt, some vanilla and some dark chocolate pieces (I used Lindt).

IMG_1494_Fotor_Collage

Once it is all mixed up, put the mixture into a lined baking pan and into the oven.

IMG_1497

Then bake it for close to an hour and let cool before slicing.

IMG_1501

IMG_1504

IMG_1505

I was pleasantly surprised.  It was cakey in texture and had the perfect peanut butter chocolate flavour, not overly sweet.  A definite add to the baking rotation. =)

Leave a Reply

