My Broccoli Dream Come True

Does anyone really,  truly love broccoli?  I think right now I might really, truly love broccoli.  What’s not to love about broccoli?  It is a good source of fibre, Vitamin A, B1, B6, and E, omega-3 fatty acids, magnesium, zinc, calcium, iron, niacin and selenium.

I’m in a love affair with broccoli right now.  I want it in my salads, as a side dish with my meals.  I just really, really love broccoli right now.

Of course, I can only eat so much steamed or raw broccoli.  Sometimes, one needs to shake it up.  I shook it up.  I made a broccoli salad, inspired by one I had a few weeks ago.  Not certain if the ingredients I added here help or negate the healthy properties of broccoli, but you know what?  I’m not sure I care at this point, because this salad just tasted so darn yummy.

It begins with red onions – finely chopped, crispy bacon – that is crumbled and of course raw broccoli – cut into bite size pieces.

The onion and crumbled bacon are then added to the broccoli in a bowl.

IMG_6242

To this, add some nuts, cranberries and raisins.  I bought a little “trail mix” snack bag made up of almonds, walnuts, raisins and cranberries and dumped it on top.  This would also work with pine nuts and sunflower seed.  Just something to add some crunch and texture to the salad.  Some people even add apples or cheddar cheese shreds to this salad.  The combos are endless.    Look at all that colour!

The dressing is very simple.  1 cup of mayonnaise ( I used Miracle Whip which has a tangy taste that I enjoy), 1/2 cup sugar (I didn’t use quite this much, I’d start with 1/4 first, then add to taste or use a non sugar sweetener) 2 tablespoons vinegar (this will dilute the mayo bit).  Pour the dressing on top of the broccoli mix and toss.

IMG_6246

Now, you cannot eat this right away.  It needs time to sit and allow the broccoli to absorb the dressing and all the flavours to mingle.  Let sit at least 2 hours before serving.  I waiting til the next day (so hard) and had some for breakfast.

Swoon.

Try this salad for a summer picnic or potluck.  A great side dish at a bbq.

Try it and let me know! =)

Leave a Reply

