Trending…Grilled Cheese?

Remember when grilled cheese sandwiches were made from Wonder white bread and a slice of Kraft processed cheese? Well, my peeps, grilled cheese has had a makeover. That simple sandwich that originated in the 1920s when inexpensive bread and cheese became more available has now gone gourmet.

No more plain white bread and processed cheese. I’m talking fresh made sourdoughs, ryes and even raisin breads paired with Havarti, aged Cheddars, Asiago or Brie and accented with chutneys, sauces, vegetables and meats. Gone are the frying pans on stoves which require flipping halfway with a spatula. These artisan grilled cheese shops use panini presses that perfectly warm up these works of cheese art.

I’ve had the recent pleasure of checking out a couple of new grilled cheese joints and I was not disappointed.

Cheesewerks, located on Bathurst St. near Wellington in Toronto was first.

20120226-215106.jpg
They pride themselves on using fine cheeses and breads. They make all their own sauces, soups and like to offer wine pairings as well! Imagine that! Grilled cheese and wine! My kind of meal!!
Check out their Menu. I love that the menu says everything is better with bacon. I totally agree!

On this, my first ever visit I went with the Los Angeles – Havarti, avocado, citrus compote, arugula on Angeligus Sourdough.

20120226-220403.jpg.
What’s in the box….anticipating my sandwich. That’s some spicy sriracha sauce for dipping.

Voila!

20120226-220633.jpg

Bread was perfectly grilled. I am a fan of Havarti, but I won’t lie, I think the cheese got lost in the avocado and citrus compote aka orange marmalade. Near the end the sweetness was too much. I did enjoy it but will probably try something different next time.

The Construction Site is the other place I tried. It has two locations – Yonge and Eglinton and its newest spot in the food court at Sherway Gardens. This place lives up to its name. Constantly creating and “constructing” crazy grilled cheese concoctions. Check out their Menu.

20120227-215130.jpg

Their spiel is to offer promotions and they like to let people play a role in what appears on their menu.

I decided to keep with the avocado theme and went with the Cha Cha Cha – jalapeño Havarti, feta, avocado, red onions on ancient grain sourdough. At this place , not only does it come with a dipping sauce, you also get rosemary potato chips or a salad on the side. Your choice.

20120227-215436.jpg
Nice flavour, nothing was too over powering in this sandwich. I think I would get it again as well as this one, the Joe Carter, a take on a Philly Cheesesteak made with provolone and mozzarella.

20120227-215645.jpg

I think The Construction Zone has a bit of an edge. More value and taste for your dollar. Plus they make a dessert sandwich. Think S’mores but a bit bigger and more dressed up. Come on!! So good! =)

Leave a comment